Leave Tumut on the Snowy Mountains Highway and follow the signs for Cooma. Approximately 100kms from Tumut is the former township of Kiandra.
Kiandra was built on the wave of a goldrush and by 1860 there may have been as many as 10,000 miners in Kiandra and surrounding areas. In March 1860 there were claims that up to 500 ounces of gold were being extracted per day. By 1861 the main rush was over and the population dwindled. Although gold was the reason it arose, the town also became known as the birthplace of Australian skiing.
A self- guided heritage walk around the former Kiandra township begins at the courthouse. There are a number of interpretive signs along the trail that provide an idea of what life was like in Kiandra.
Visitors can also take a walk along the Gold Seekers trail which is located near Three Mile Dam and visit the Kiandra Pioneer Cemetery and Stamper Battery.
Return to Tumut.
During the winter months the Snowy Mountains Highway is subject to snow and ice. Please check current road conditions with the Tumut Region Visitor Information Centre or the RTA on 132 701 before departing.